Several candidates waited until almost the last minute to file to run for office.

Friday at noon was the deadline for those seeking public office to make sure their name is on the primary election ballot.

In the primary, voters choose a Democrat or Republican ballot and vote for those who they want to see move on to the General Election in November.

Notes of interest on the local ballot include a 3 person race for County Commissioners in District 2.

Incumbent Trent Hinkle is challenged by Timothy J. Ellerman II and Pamela J. Hazel.

For County Commissioner District 1, Incumbent TJ Brink is challenged by Cher Wehrman.

On the GOP ballot for County Council At-Large there are 7 candidates.

There are 3 At-Large seats up for election currently held by Dan Reitmeyer, David Culp and Harry Nolting.  Culp and Nolting are not seeking re-election.

Joining Reitmeyer on the GOP ticket are Brett M. Dawson, Deaton P. Grove, Jon Hillenbrand, Michial Jacob, Tony W.McCarter and Kevin L. Meyer.

Newly appointed County Coroner Joe Milspaugh Junior is being challenged fellow Republican Kira Ashley Dent.

Current Knox County Treasurer Cendy Joslin is unopposed.

There are are also some contested races for precinct committeeman.

See the full list below.